• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Intro to scanning for photographers

Erik DeBill

I'm an experienced digital photographer, but I just ordered a Tachihara 4x5 camera and a scanner to go with it. My intention is to scan my negatives, slides and polaroids to get them into my digital workflow.

Does anyone know of a good intro to scanning for such purposes? I already know what bit-depth is. I know the difference between linear and logarithmic data. What I don't know are the ins and outs of squeezing the best performance out of my scanner (which hasn't even arrived yet).

So... any recommendations?

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
Hi Erik,

Congratulations on the 4x5! That is a great step and you have just bought your own 30MP digital back, so to speak. More clutsy and slow, but as wonderful to make pictures. Why don't you let us know when the 4x5 arrives and then give us a running report in the Large format section. There are a lot of experienced 4x5 users ready to jump in I'm sure!

In fact, I'm thinking of using my own crown Graphic camera for hte same purpose!

When you report on the scanner, we can discuss more as the way film is handled and the software varies so much.

Asher

Daniel Harrison

pro member