• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

What's you favorite DSR lenses? Even if you use another brand!

Jan Rifkinson

favorite lenses

What are your favorite lenses?

I'm sort of frustrated because it seems like canon produces these great cameras but falls short in the lens dept.

I'm not a pro that can afford a lot of f1.2 lenses but I'm willing to save for one if it's worth it while I trudge along w my 28-105 f3.5 & 70-300is f4.5, both of which leave something to be desired. Of the two I favor the 28-105 because of its size + at 8mgpxl, I can crop for cu(s) or ecu(s) if I can't get my camera into the right position.

Thanks.

Nill Toulme

I haven't had it very long, but so far I'm very happy with the 24-105L as a general purpose lens on the 1DMkII. I recently traded my 24-70L for it, as I wanted a little more reach and IS for event shooting. I've shot one dance event with it so far, and it really exceeded my expectations.

I won't say it's my "favorite" though. My favorites tend to run to the extremes, i.e., the 400 f/2.8L IS and the 15mm f/2.8 fisheye.

Nill
~~
www.toulme.net

My favorite lenses

I shoot with a 1DsMkII and mainly do portrait and model portfolio shoots, so it will be a bit different then what your needs are, but...

In order of desire to use if I can make it work:

1. 85/f1.2 (I have mk-I ) (just beautiful shots if I hit the focus and DoF right on the money - useless for action photography)