• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

MacGyver question

David McKinny

One of my projects, as given to me by my wife, is to take a portrait of my daughter suitable for sending out as a Christmas card. All I have to work with is a Canon 30D, a very old and cheap camcorder tripod, 18-55 kit lens, 50 1.8, 70-200 4.0 (which the tripod won't support) and a remote release. Since I am fairly new to photography, I'm looking for any suggestions that might spark an idea.

I'm thinking the tripod and the thrifty 50 as a start, but I can't seem to get past the lighting part.

Ken Tanaka

pro member
Welcome David.

Light can be the easiest and least expensive element; it's free!

Many of the most beautiful portraits use existing light. Park your daughter near a window on an overcast afternoon to get nice soft light. Use a piece of white board to reflect fill light if needed. That 30D is one hell of a camera more than capable of doing the job very nicely.

The 70-200 mm is a common choice for portraiture, mainly for depth of field narrowness and spacial compression. But give other focal lengths a whirl as space permits.

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
Welcome David.

Light can be the easiest and least expensive element; it's free!