• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Hi from John in the UK

John_Nevill

Looking through other welcome messages, where does one start?

Well i'm an obsesssively keen amateur, started out in late 70's on Zenit and Practika SLRs, did a few correspondence courses (it was all the rage then) and after 7 years or playing with chemicals in a converted bedroom (darkroom), I decided to give it all up and concentrate on my career and get a degree and MBA. Then the kids came along and wasn't until 1999 that I refound my interest due to the advent of the 2Mp digicam.

Two year's ago I sold all my Olympus SLR gear for the price of a 2Gb compact flash card and bought a couple of EOS dSLRs......My passion was reborn!
I'm climbing the digital ladder and still dream about being a full time professional photographer, but alas economics preside.

18 Months ago, I put together an independent UK based amateur website for EOS enthusiasts and embarked into the world of ICC profile creation. I mainly photograph wildlife, spend a lot of time in Zoos and love bird and ape photography.

My passion has never been stronger and hopefully joining an open forum like this I can both learn and make some contribution.

Welcome John!

We share the same love of nature photography, on this side of the pond, and birds are definitely my passion. I look forward to your posts on the Nature-Wildlife-Landscape Forum!

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
John,