Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > The Gear > Macintosh

Macintosh All Power PC and Intel platforms.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 29th, 2007, 03:09 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default Aperture and Auto Pano Pro?

Who has integrated workflow between these great programs?

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 29th, 2007, 03:24 PM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Who has integrated workflow between these great programs?

Asher
Hey Asher!

After being absolutely enthusiastic by the features of the first Aperture-Version, i´m very pi . . . ed-off by the 1.5 version.
They took away the main-bibliotheque-window - oversight with ALL pictures in ONE Window, which i need very much by shooting some hundred shots before noon.
The new way of having an oversight is very uncomfortable - to me at least.
I´m actually working on a testimonial-job with 15 people in 5 scenes and have to select from some hundred shots every day - it would be very good to have a quick oversight - but the new window-structure nerves me completely. So i switched to Lightroom in a moment. It´s much more comfortable to me in this case.
I really am a hardcore-Apple-fan since the beginning of the Mac in 1984 . . . but Aperture really sucks when working fast and concentrated with very much shots at a time.
Try it . . . . working slow with few shots and much time for selecting: no problem. But when it´s "burning": no, thanks.

I think, i´ll go back to an earlier version of Aperture - i had a good workflow with APP in selecting single shots for a pano and prepare them for stitching. But the older version´s RAW-converte couldn´t be the last word at all . . .

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 30th, 2007, 01:42 AM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default

Klaus, I heard that Aperture was going to synch with APP? Heard anything?

I'll have to download APP 1.5. Do you have to uninstall the previous version or can one keep both?

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 30th, 2007, 03:12 AM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Klaus, I heard that Aperture was going to synch with APP? Heard anything?

I'll have to download APP 1.5. Do you have to uninstall the previous version or can one keep both?

Asher
Hi Asher!

What do you mean " Aperture was going to synch with APP"?

When you install Aperture 1.5, it overwrites you previous version, but imports the library. You can´t keep both - and i didn´t manage to switch back yet . . . .

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 30th, 2007, 11:36 AM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus Esser View Post
Hi Asher!

What do you mean " Aperture was going to synch with APP"?
I'll try to get some information from APP.

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 31st, 2007, 08:42 AM
Stan Jirman Stan Jirman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 189
Default

My "integrated" workflow is to export in Aperture (tifff) and then feed it into APP. I don't know how anyone would have downloaded APP 1.5 since they are *working* on 1.4 (most recent release is 1.3.1), but what do I know.

As for a true integration, maybe can you be more specific what you are looking for? I am perfectly happy with the workflow that I have right now, but that doesn't say much.
__________________
Stan Jirman
http://www.jirman.com/
Canon & Apple equipment
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 31st, 2007, 09:46 AM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan Jirman View Post
My "integrated" workflow is to export in Aperture (tifff) and then feed it into APP. I don't know how anyone would have downloaded APP 1.5 since they are *working* on 1.4 (most recent release is 1.3.1), but what do I know.

As for a true integration, maybe can you be more specific what you are looking for? I am perfectly happy with the workflow that I have right now, but that doesn't say much.
Hey Stan!

APP (AutoPanoPro) is at version 1.3.1. The Version 1.4 Alex actually promised for monday.
Apperture is at version 1.5.3

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 31st, 2007, 10:26 AM
Stan Jirman Stan Jirman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus Esser View Post
Hey Stan!
APP (AutoPanoPro) is at version 1.3.1. The Version 1.4 Alex actually promised for monday.
That's what I said. And no, he promised it for Next Week; read his post correctly. Knowing Alexandre, that means Friday late evening, if at all... He's a very nice & smart guy but needs to learn a few things about ship date announcements.

Quote:
Apperture is at version 1.5.3
Again, nobody ever disputed that.
__________________
Stan Jirman
http://www.jirman.com/
Canon & Apple equipment
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 21st, 2007, 03:24 PM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

Alexandre promised today for next monday, but I'm not sure if he launches the win-version first.

I'm keen to get the the 1.4, having a FF and a 15mm-fish, this reducing the shots on 6+2 for full sphere.
__________________
http://www.proimago.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 21st, 2007, 04:16 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default

While we are on APP, a simple question.

After adding the vertical guides for making the Pano have proper verticals, what is the next step. I did it previoiusly but now forget what one does to get APP to do the rrendering with this.

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 21st, 2007, 04:29 PM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

Asher,

just hit the >enter<-key, and you're done.
__________________
http://www.proimago.net
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 21st, 2007, 06:19 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default

Thanks Michael,

That maybe isw how it worked before, but not now! I'll delete APP preferences and try again!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 25th, 2007, 01:19 AM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

Yesterday, did some stitching - for urbanistic architecture purpose - with APP; the enter key is definetly the right one.
BTW: For these typ of shots, stitching is just perfect; as usually a good camera position, the appropriate focal lenghts and the FOV very rarely fit together. With stitching, one can create the required FOV, just by adding a few shots on the right or left. Even more: stitching will "enhance" the resolution as well - compared to a single shot, which is a big bonus in these bad summer light conditions.

The win-version of APP 1.4 is launched: http://en.wiki.autopano.net/Latest_Beta
the mac-version should come, this week.

Vers 1.4 will have fisheye-support, as well as the ability, to add manually the focal lenghts, when a third-party lens is used, as distagons, etc.
__________________
http://www.proimago.net
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 25th, 2007, 04:41 AM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Thanks Michael,

That maybe isw how it worked before, but not now! I'll delete APP preferences and try again!

Asher
Hi Asher!

I sent you the same advice as Michael per pn yesterday.

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 25th, 2007, 04:43 AM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Fontana View Post
Yesterday, did some stitching - for urbanistic architecture purpose - with APP; the enter key is definetly the right one.
BTW: For these typ of shots, stitching is just perfect; as usually a good camera position, the appropriate focal lenghts and the FOV very rarely fit together. With stitching, one can create the required FOV, just by adding a few shots on the right or left. Even more: stitching will "enhance" the resolution as well - compared to a single shot, which is a big bonus in these bad summer light conditions.

The win-version of APP 1.4 is launched: http://en.wiki.autopano.net/Latest_Beta
the mac-version should come, this week.

Vers 1.4 will have fisheye-support, as well as the ability, to add manually the focal lenghts, when a third-party lens is used, as distagons, etc.

Hey Michael!

It´s a bit like christmas to APP-users . . . :-) - if they really give us the mac-version this week . .

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 25th, 2007, 05:13 AM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

Good morning, Klaus

yep, it has been possible to stitch fishs with APP, but was a bit clumsy....
they had a QTmovie showing that feature, the other day, on the APPforum...

and I like the use of my adapted lenses as well. BTW: Alexandre did change the editors-windows as well.


>if they really give us the mac-version this week . .<

it took' em longer than they thought, but I'm not in a hurry, as I prefer software not maturing on the users computer. : ouch:
__________________
http://www.proimago.net
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old June 25th, 2007, 06:43 AM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

<as I prefer software not maturing on the users computer. : ouch:>

you name it . . . :-)

best, Klaus

btw.: did you read the thread with the motorized "merlin" head? THAT`S great!
I´m just after a translation of the french wiki about programming it for big panos . . .

http://forum.autopano.net/t1808-giga...torisee-merlin
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old June 25th, 2007, 08:46 AM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

Beeing busy, these weeks, I had a rather superficial look at it. There's another big thread about it.

And before entering in these sizes, I still need to optimise my setups, with the 15 mm fish, 21 mm zuiko, 28 mm distagon, 50 mm macro and 100 mm macro...

meanwhile slowly getting into Lightroom as well...

>I´m just after a translation of the french wiki <

I might give you a hand, in about a week or so. As I understand pretty everything they write in the french wiki....- it's easier to understand than to write ;-)
__________________
http://www.proimago.net
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old June 25th, 2007, 01:38 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default

Where is the Merlin made? In AutoPano Pro Wiki it says

L'idée est de réaliser une Tête panoramique motorisée à partir d'une monture astronomique azimutale; le prix dérisoire (240€) de celle-ci en fait une très bonne candidate.

So what does one get for the $240 Euro? The plans to build it?

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old June 25th, 2007, 02:05 PM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

I haven't read it; here is an other panohead, with a motor as well.... just for comparison.
__________________
http://www.proimago.net
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old June 25th, 2007, 02:15 PM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Where is the Merlin made? In AutoPano Pro Wiki it says

L'idée est de réaliser une Tête panoramique motorisée à partir d'une monture astronomique azimutale; le prix dérisoire (240€) de celle-ci en fait une très bonne candidate.

So what does one get for the $240 Euro? The plans to build it?

Asher
see here:

http://www.telescope.com/shopping/pr...dd=yes#tabLink in the US it´s called "Orion".

and: yes, it´s about 250.-$ . . :-)

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old June 25th, 2007, 02:19 PM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Fontana View Post
I haven't read it; here is an other panohead, with a motor as well.... just for comparison.

yes - i worked with it. I mean it´s too expensive and lacks vertical motorizsation - and is unstable with heavy camera/lens-combination like 300mm and an 1Ds.
Just horizontal driven - but the motor and controls and positioning are very precise.

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old June 25th, 2007, 02:49 PM
Michael Fontana Michael Fontana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,557
Default

okay, with a 300 mm ;-)
- good for mega-panos.

I actually have the Seitz-head - without the motor, and works fine with the 100 mm macro & 1 Ds-2...



BTW: The shoots were done on a pedestrian bridge between France and Germany...
as the bridge is moving, when people walk on it, it was a bit tricky
__________________
http://www.proimago.net
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old June 25th, 2007, 06:32 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
In AutoPano Pro Wiki it says

L'idée est de réaliser une Tête panoramique motorisée à partir d'une monture astronomique azimutale; le prix dérisoire (240€) de celle-ci en fait une très bonne candidate.

So what does one get for the $240 Euro? The plans to build it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus Esser View Post
see here:

http://www.telescope.com/shopping/pr...dd=yes#tabLink in the US it´s called "Orion".

and: yes, it´s about 250.-$ . . :-)

best, Klaus
Well, Klaus, this is amzing if it is a solid platform. The price is very good for just a non motorized pano.

Answers to the following:

1. How many axis the camera can be moved in? The answer is two. Left to right and swinging up and down!

2. The means for getting the optical center of the lens in the center of rotation? I was thinking one could simply add a macro rail.

3. How many shots can one program to take in each position? In Pano's bracketing is great as one can go in and out of shadow and bright areas. Just one in auto mode but good for many panos. However, they have a " go to" mode so one advances to each preset position by pressing the buttons, 1-6 and at each place the camera can be fired using the Canon remote. I'd fire of 5 sets of brackers to get high resolution low noise HDR :)

I'm simple amazed!

If it works and is solid, what could be better?

I think the Canon 5D with a 300mm f 4 lens would be very good. It can hold 8.8 lb!

Well looks like something to play with!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old June 26th, 2007, 05:30 AM
Klaus Esser Klaus Esser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Posts: 473
Default

"Well looks like something to play with!"

right :-) - i´m gonna order 3 heads (two pals are interested too) and we´re just in contact with some IT-students to modify the programs, which originally are for astro-navigation/positioning, for high-res pano-photography.
I´ll keep you informed.

BUT FIRST the 6x9/digital contest will take place end of the week :-) !

best, Klaus
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old June 26th, 2007, 04:08 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus Esser View Post
"Well looks like something to play with!"

right :-) - i´m gonna order 3 heads (two pals are interested too) and we´re just in contact with some IT-students to modify the programs, which originally are for astro-navigation/positioning, for high-res pano-photography.
I´ll keep you informed.

BUT FIRST the 6x9/digital contest will take place end of the week :-) !

best, Klaus
What will the new software allow one to do?

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet © of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion © 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!