Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > The Gear > Macintosh

Macintosh All Power PC and Intel platforms.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 9th, 2007, 05:30 AM
jacob smith jacob smith is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Default MAC with Win'Dohz

Just wanted to know, is a dual boot Macbook pretty good?
Meaning, is the PC somewhat more stable? or more stable?
Does the Mac become susceptible to crashing more or any instability for that matter?
I'm seriously torn here in what to get for a laptop.
PC or MAC...this bites. =\

Another question that just came to mind, if I do get a Mac with bootcamp or w/e it's called.
Do I have to provide a copy of XP?
Thanks..............
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 9th, 2007, 08:42 AM
Tim Smith Tim Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central Maine, U.S.A.
Posts: 39
Default

I don't have one of the Intel MACs (yet) so can't comment on the stability factor. I do know however, that you must purchase your own copy of Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 9th, 2007, 09:08 AM
Stan Jirman Stan Jirman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 189
Default

The PC runs just fine like a PC, with some minor driver level issues (they are being updated regularly). The Mac doesn't suffer because it doesn't know anything about the PC boot partition. Or you can run Parallels, and then you have Windows running in a Mac window, which is how I use it most of the time: I suffer only for the app that I really need, the rest of my machine is still a Mac.
__________________
Stan Jirman
http://www.jirman.com/
Canon & Apple equipment
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 9th, 2007, 10:20 AM
Amy Goalen Amy Goalen is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Unfortunately, many people are finding out the hard way that the MacBook and MacBook Pro laptops are prone to random crashes and shutdowns. And what Apple doesn't want you to know is they have no fix just yet for this problem. But I'll bet you've noticed that you can buy a great refurbished Mac on Apple's website for cheap. Why? Because so many people have returned their machines to Apple because of the random crashes and shutdowns.

Now this may not be a problem if you're not using the system for professional applications. But for those of us Digital Teching on location for professional photographers shooting tethered to a Leaf Aptus 75 and the computer keeps crashing or it won't process out the files without crashing and needing to be rebooted this a major issue.

I have also heard of many pro's in ProAudio industry complain about the same thing...

check out the following site: http://macbookrandomshutdown.com

Personally, I'm waiting for Apple to release the next generation of the Intel laptops. It just goes to show that running out to buy the latest and greatest item sold is not always the best way to go.

Amy Goalen
ProDigital Consulting
http://prodigitalconsulting.com
Digital Tech & Software Trainer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 9th, 2007, 10:38 AM
Chuck Fry Chuck Fry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy Goalen
Unfortunately, many people are finding out the hard way that the MacBook and MacBook Pro laptops are prone to random crashes and shutdowns.
My early June MacBook has had no such problems. It's run like a champ from day one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 9th, 2007, 11:21 AM
Ray West Ray West is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK - Somerset
Posts: 1,703
Default

Hi Jacob,

If all you want to do is to run pc windows software, then there are far better pc's than macs out there. Personally, I have always found multi-boot systems to be a bit of a nuisance. If your software is only available for the mac, I think I would consider getting a window's equivalent. In a year or three's time, it will probably be a moot discussion, anyway.

Best wishes,

Ray
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 10th, 2007, 09:38 AM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33,859
Default

Who is using the new Mac laptops without problems with Windows and OS X?

I am a little concerned about the reports of the sporadic shutdowns.

asher
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 10th, 2007, 12:01 PM
Nicolas Claris Nicolas Claris is offline
Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 5,650
Default

Not exactly the answer you wish, but I'm running a MacPro since a week (Two 2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon - ram: 4GB WITHOUT any problem (using mainly OSX but also bootcamp and Parrallel).
My last work a few minutes ago was with PSCS3 on a 600 Mb 16 bits file (8.2x4.9 feet@125 dpi) to be displayed in Dusseldorf (Germany) at the end of this month...
What a machine!
__________________
WEBSITE - FACEBOOK - INSTAGRAM
Please do no repost my images elsewhere than OPF without my permission.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 10th, 2007, 12:14 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33,859
Default

Hi Nicolas,

I have to leave town to accompany my friend to MDAnderson in Houston Texas for treatment evaluation and may get locked up there for weeks.

Most of my drives are SATA now and my G4 ~870 MHZ Powerbook has a partly broken hinge and could be replace anyway.

I can get a SATA card for either the G4 Powerbook or else get a new 17" and go first class.

I'm glad to hear you are not having sporadic shut downs. Many thousands of these have been sold but how common and representative are the problem units?

It's a pity that generally only the bad things get talked about.

Asher
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 10th, 2007, 11:11 PM
Nicolas Claris Nicolas Claris is offline
Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 5,650
Default

Bonjour Asher
First and again, all my very best wishes for your friend...
Now, in regards to your SATA drives, I don't understand haw you can plug a SATA card into a PB... but I'm not a specialist of PB (though I have had many for years but always used Firewire drives).
Changing of machine really depends of your needs, The PB G4 is Ok for handling small files in PS CS2 (certainly not CS3) and raws, one by one (I mean not series of hundreds), + mail and all standard application as Excell or Word (or their equivalent)
But if you want an efficient way to edit lto of files, test&try, I think you'll have to go for an upgrade and bring your Eizo as well...

Remember, we always hear/read horror/bad stories, few of the happy ones, even if, whatever the OS is, there are millions of computers sold each year. Same for camera bodies...
The problem is to be in the right camp (the good stories one).

It also happens to be happy Windows customers, I met some !;-)
__________________
WEBSITE - FACEBOOK - INSTAGRAM
Please do no repost my images elsewhere than OPF without my permission.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 11th, 2007, 10:42 PM
Stan Jirman Stan Jirman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolas Claris
Now, in regards to your SATA drives, I don't understand haw you can plug a SATA card into a PB... but I'm not a specialist of PB (though I have had many for years but always used Firewire drives).
A SATA card can be plugged into every Powerbook into the PCMCIA (picky mickey) slot. The new MacBook Pro machines have an ExpressCard/32 slot, and there are some eSATA cards already. There is no way to connect a SATA drive to a MacBook or an iBook.
__________________
Stan Jirman
http://www.jirman.com/
Canon & Apple equipment
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 11th, 2007, 10:45 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33,859
Default

Well, i have the Sonnet Tempo SATA Express 34 for the Expresscard/34 slot on my new beautiful 17" MacBookPro and I'll report on it shortly running 4 500 GB SATA drives.

That will be fun!

Asher
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 11th, 2007, 11:00 PM
Nicolas Claris Nicolas Claris is offline
Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 5,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan Jirman
A SATA card can be plugged into every Powerbook into the PCMCIA (picky mickey) slot.
Bonjour Stan
the PCMCIA port is so slow! I guess it would (was...) faster to use Firewire disk than PCMCIA/SATA as external disk...
Does ExpressCard/32 slot, and eSATA cards compliant with SATA 2 disks?
Is it faster than FireWire 800 ?
Thanks
__________________
WEBSITE - FACEBOOK - INSTAGRAM
Please do no repost my images elsewhere than OPF without my permission.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 11th, 2007, 11:02 PM
Nicolas Claris Nicolas Claris is offline
Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 5,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman
Well, i have the Sonnet Tempo SATA Express 34 for the Expresscard/34 slot on my new beautiful 17" MacBookPro and I'll report on it shortly running 4 500 GB SATA drives.

That will be fun!

Asher
Congratulations Asher !

finally, what did you help you to make your decision for the plunge?
How can you compare the 17" screen and your Eizo with the same image ?
__________________
WEBSITE - FACEBOOK - INSTAGRAM
Please do no repost my images elsewhere than OPF without my permission.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 11th, 2007, 11:44 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33,859
Default

Nicolas,

Who has to compare! I have both. I plan to try some speed tests and may end up using the Eizo with the MacBook Pro and a bluetooth keyboard.

I decided to take the plunge since you already like it I knew this was a serious beast and I have to be away back and forth to help my friend. My current G4 Al has a blue line on the screen, one broken hinge, an ~ 870 GHZ processor which struggles with the Leaf Aptus software and really can't handle CS2, so it's time!

Asher
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 12th, 2007, 04:07 AM
Nicolas Claris Nicolas Claris is offline
Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 5,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman
Nicolas,

Who has to compare! I have both.
Yes this is why I did ask you, is the Apple built-in monitor very for from the Eizo (wonderfull) quality?

Did you go for the glossy screen?
__________________
WEBSITE - FACEBOOK - INSTAGRAM
Please do no repost my images elsewhere than OPF without my permission.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 12th, 2007, 09:39 AM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33,859
Default

I'll test it!

Asher
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!