Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > The Gear > Macintosh

Macintosh All Power PC and Intel platforms.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 16th, 2007, 05:16 PM
Paul Bestwick Paul Bestwick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hobart Tasmania
Posts: 462
Default lost files

OK... here is what happened. I got the auto update notification from Apple. I was not interested to do it then so cancelled out of it. It went but my desktop refreshed & everything on it disappeared.... no trace.

Anyone got a solution.....

Thanks,

PB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 16th, 2007, 06:01 PM
Aaron Strasburg Aaron Strasburg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 120
Default

That obviously shouldn't happen. I don't know why there would be a connection between declining a software update and having your desktop corrupted.

I'd be tempted to reboot single user (reboot, holding S while the machine comes up) then run fsck. Single user mode conveniently gives instructions. That checks the filesystem at the lowest level, then if that doesn't help I guess I'd try repair permissions and such in Disk Utility.

Backups available?

Aaron
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/ats1911/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 18th, 2007, 03:57 PM
Stan Jirman Stan Jirman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 189
Default

As Aaron said above. Oftentimes, the Finder simply lies about what's there, which is an old problem and nuisance, but only a miracle will give us a better Finder. That's not helping you...

If you really lost files, this app works pretty well:

http://www.prosofteng.com/products/data_rescue.php

You can try it on a few files and only if it works you have to shell out the dough. Saved me a few files...

In case it is Finder having a brain fart, which I would not be surprised about, you may want to consider this. In Terminal, type:

defaults write com.apple.finder QuitMenuItem 1

Then log out and back in, and you'll have a Quit menu item for Finder. When you think it's lying to you, such as with network file systems but also in general, simply quit and re-launch it and you'll get a fresh look at the filesystem :)

Yes, it would be nice if there was a simple "Refresh" or such menu item, but clearly this is more user friendly :)
__________________
Stan Jirman
http://www.jirman.com/
Canon & Apple equipment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!