Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > Digital Camera Discussion > New Pro-Class Compact GR Ricoh Experience(s)

New Pro-Class Compact GR Ricoh Experience(s) A forum where pro and amateurs can share and discuss their experience(s) with the Ricoh GR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 7th, 2013, 04:40 AM
Paul Abbott Paul Abbott is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: W. Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Default RICOH GR firmware update 2.03

Here is the 2.03 firmware update for the GR. It has some cool and interesting fixes...and includes a 47mm crop mode.

http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/engli...ital/gr_s.html
__________________
http://paulyrichard.wordpress.com/ "In fact I don't believe there is such a thing as a definitive picture of something. The land is a living, breathing thing and light changes its character every second of every day." - Fay Godwin "All the technique in the world doesn’t compensate for the inability to notice." - Elliott Erwitt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 7th, 2013, 06:39 AM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,391
Default

Hi, Paul,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Abbott View Post
Here is the 2.03 firmware update for the GR. It has some cool and interesting fixes...and includes a 47mm crop mode.
What does that mean?

Thanks.

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 7th, 2013, 09:22 AM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,391
Default

Hi, Paul,

I see now what the "47 mm crop mode" means.

It evidently means that the sensor image is "cropped" to give a field of view corresponding to that which would result from the use of a 47 mm focal length lens on a full-frame 35-mm film camera.

This is as contrasted with the basic "full-frame" mode of the GR, in which the field of view is that which would result from the use of a 28 mm focal length lens on a full-frame 35-mm film camera.

I would expect that in that mode, the highest available pixel layout of the output image is about 2700 px × 1945 px.

Very nice.

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 7th, 2013, 09:45 AM
Paul Abbott Paul Abbott is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: W. Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Default

Hey Doug, sorry I missed your initial post.
I think this 47mm crop comes in at a 5 mega-pixel affair. It's caught me by surprise, I really didn't expect to see RICOH offering an option like this. I suppose it could come in handy at some point...

The sensor is cropped and it looks like the DOF of the 18.5mm lens remains constant too. The highest pixel layout is 2912 x 1936 offering a 5.5 mega-pixel image approx. I think.
__________________
http://paulyrichard.wordpress.com/ "In fact I don't believe there is such a thing as a definitive picture of something. The land is a living, breathing thing and light changes its character every second of every day." - Fay Godwin "All the technique in the world doesn’t compensate for the inability to notice." - Elliott Erwitt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 7th, 2013, 09:51 AM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is online now
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Abbott View Post
.............

I think this 47mm crop comes in at a 5 mega-pixel affair. It's caught me by surprise, I really didn't expect to see RICOH offering an option like this. I suppose it could come in handy at some point...

The sensor is cropped and it looks like the DOF of the 18.5mm lens remains constant too. The highest pixel layout is 2912 x 1936 offering a 5.5 mega-pixel image approx. I think.
It makes sense in the situation where one only needs to capture what is in the center of the screen, but at the same perspective. In that case, one saves memory, (as long as only that section of the CMOS surface output is recorded).

Essentially, if one is not going to zoom with one's feet, then one is wasting storage space by keeping an entire frame! So for that, it's nifty................as long as one can assign it to a function button!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 7th, 2013, 10:01 AM
Paul Abbott Paul Abbott is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: W. Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Default

This is what I love about RICOH, they've made the camera that little bit more versatile I guess.
Imagine shooting with the 47mm crop in 1:1 format? Your looking at 2 or 3 mega-pixels approx., no?
I have my crop modes assigned to the 'Effect' button, it'll be a case of cycling through them now.
__________________
http://paulyrichard.wordpress.com/ "In fact I don't believe there is such a thing as a definitive picture of something. The land is a living, breathing thing and light changes its character every second of every day." - Fay Godwin "All the technique in the world doesn’t compensate for the inability to notice." - Elliott Erwitt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 7th, 2013, 12:32 PM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,391
Default

Hi, Asher,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
It makes sense in the situation where one only needs to capture what is in the center of the screen, but at the same perspective. In that case, one saves memory, (as long as only that section of the CMOS surface output is recorded).

Essentially, if one is not going to zoom with one's feet, then one is wasting storage space by keeping an entire frame! So for that, it's nifty................as long as one can assign it to a function button!
Yes, makes much sense.

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 8th, 2013, 12:07 AM
Nicolas Claris Nicolas Claris is offline
Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 5,652
Default

Thanks for pointing to this new firmware Paul!
__________________
WEBSITE - FACEBOOK - INSTAGRAM
Please do no repost my images elsewhere than OPF without my permission.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 8th, 2013, 01:19 AM
Paul Abbott Paul Abbott is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: W. Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Default

Your welcome, Nicolas...
__________________
http://paulyrichard.wordpress.com/ "In fact I don't believe there is such a thing as a definitive picture of something. The land is a living, breathing thing and light changes its character every second of every day." - Fay Godwin "All the technique in the world doesn’t compensate for the inability to notice." - Elliott Erwitt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
News: New Firmware Update For Canon EOS 5D Mark III Asher Kelman Breaking News 0 November 1st, 2012 01:43 AM
News: GXR Firmware update! Asher Kelman Breaking News 0 March 18th, 2010 11:24 AM
Helpful Hints/D.I.Y.: EOS 5D Mark II Firmware Update Version 1.1.0 Cem_Usakligil Canon Eos Mount DSLRs 0 September 1st, 2009 05:23 AM
News: Ricoh GR DIGITAL II firmware upgrade Asher Kelman Breaking News 0 December 4th, 2008 12:27 AM
Focus Issue Addressed in Firmware Update for 1DIII Asher Kelman Breaking News 25 July 31st, 2007 03:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet © of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion © 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!