Open Photography Forums  
HOME FORUMS NEWS FAQ SEARCH

Go Back   Open Photography Forums > The Gear > Storage - Memory

Storage - Memory All devices that are used to store image data.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 26th, 2007, 01:44 PM
JohnZeman JohnZeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default I just went on a 16 GB ride with SanDisk.

Today I received a new SanDisk Extreme III 16 GB CompactFlash card from SanDisk. After putting it in my 5D, I verified it was 16GB, and then following the camera's instructions I formatted the card. Guess what? My 16GB card had turned into an 8GB card. I tried every trick I could think of to no avail and then finally gave up and called SanDisk tech support.

There I was told something rather surprising. To make a long story short the tech support lady told me that with cards that large (meaning over 8 GB) I should never use the camera to format the card. That when I did so, during the format the camera destroyed half of the card's partition data. In other words instead of one 16gb partition, it created 2 8 GB partitions, one which was not allocated and therefore not visible to the camera, or the Windows "My Computer".

Currently I am awaiting an email from SanDisk which should contain the exact instructions on how I can recover the lost 8 GB partition on the card.

Has anyone else used a 16 GB SanDisk Extreme III card yet? If not, but if you're considering buying a 12 GB or larger card, you might be aware that SanDisk warns us not to use the camera to format those large cards (using the computer is apparently ok though according to them).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 26th, 2007, 01:55 PM
Cem_Usakligil Cem_Usakligil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,946
Default

Bummer. Do you have a CF card reader? If so, put the card in it and format the card from within windows or OSX. If necessary, you can use the Windows disk manager to remove the split partitions and create a new one for the whole 16 GB.

I am using Extreme III 4 Gb and 8 GB cards in my 5D. 8 GB has percievably slower write rates when the card is more than 50% filled. But I haven't tested it scientifically. My advice would be to buy 4x4GB instead. Cheaper compared to a single 16GB card, and not a single point of failure anymore.

HTH.

Regards,
__________________
Kind Regards, Cem

flickr
website
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 26th, 2007, 02:22 PM
JohnZeman JohnZeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Hi Cem,

Apparently computer management doesn't support adding or removing partitions for removable media like memory cards (at least that's what XP is telling me). That's how we finally found the problem though, the unallocated partition shows right up in the disk management section of computer management.

I'm still waiting on the fix from SanDisk. Since posting I've received a confirmation message about the problem saying the fix will be emailed to me soon.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 26th, 2007, 02:56 PM
Cem_Usakligil Cem_Usakligil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,946
Default

Hi John,

Unfortunately, you are right, the Disk Manager of XP is crippled by MS to prevent creating or deleting partitions on removable storage. However, there are many other partition managers out there such as the PowerQuest PartitionMagic or the Paragon Partition Manager. The latter has an older version with a downloadable working demo here:
http://paragon-partition-manager-per...download2.html
I just tried it and it seems it can actually partition my SanDisk. Try and see for yourself if that helps. Good luck :-)

Cheers,
__________________
Kind Regards, Cem

flickr
website
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 26th, 2007, 03:29 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,305
Default

Well, what about Mac users and 16 BIT cards?

Any issues?

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 26th, 2007, 03:50 PM
JohnZeman JohnZeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Cem it looks like Partition Manager would do what I need, however when I get to the step to actually do it (meaning apply the partition changes I'd made) it stops and tells me the demo will not actually do anything, that I'd have to buy the full program in order to proceed. I appreciate the suggestion though, but for now I think I'll wait to see what SanDisk comes up with.

Asher, I'm afraid I have no idea how this might apply to Mac users.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 26th, 2007, 11:07 PM
Nicolas Claris Nicolas Claris is offline
Administrator/Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Well, what about Mac users and 16 BIT cards?

Any issues?

Asher
Hi Asher

my cards are "only" 4 and 8 Gb…
send me a 16 Gb (not 16 BIT though) card or two and I'll test all possibilities !-- )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 27th, 2007, 02:00 AM
Will Thompson Will Thompson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near the "Out House" of the Mouse (Disneyland)
Posts: 825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnZeman View Post
My 16GB card had turned into an 8GB card.
In reality the camera does not support that big of a card.

Just for fun I put a 8GB card in my D30 just to see what happened and got a 2GB capacity. I then reformatted it in my 1DsMKII and all was well again.

What firmware version is in your 5D and does Canon say that it will support 16GB. The 1 series MKII needed the latest upgrade to support 16GB.
__________________
Will T.

"Galleries don't hang DxO charts" David Hull
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 27th, 2007, 07:09 AM
Nill Toulme Nill Toulme is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Posts: 1,407
Default

While Canon's latest firmware updates for the Mark II 1-series cameras add support for cards larger than 8GB, AFAIK they haven't yet issued similar updates for the other cameras, including the 5D.

Nill
~~
www.toulme.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 27th, 2007, 07:30 AM
Chuck Westfall(Canon USA) Chuck Westfall(Canon USA) is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 67
Default

Hi, Folks:

The EOS 5D is the only current EOS Digital SLR that does not support in-camera formatting of CF cards with capacities higher than 8 GB. The 1D Mark III is OK right out of the box, and all other current models support in-camera formatting of 12GB and 16GB CF cards with the latest firmware. That includes Rebel XTi and 30D. I know this for a fact -- I have tested each of them myself.

Naturally, we have continually requested an update to the 5D's firmware to add this feature, but to date Canon Inc. has not supplied one, nor have they told us when to expect it.

The 5D is fully compatible with 12GB and 16GB CF cards that have been formatted in other EOS cameras as listed above, so users who have access to other current EOS models are recommended to format their 12GB and 16GB CF cards in those cameras prior to using the cards in a 5D.

Best Regards,

Chuck Westfall
Director/Media & Customer Relationship
Camera Marketing Group/Canon U.S.A., Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 27th, 2007, 07:43 AM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,305
Default

That information is great.

Again Chuck, I'm happy that you follow the threads here. Thanks.

I'll now format cards in my 1DII for my 5D!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 27th, 2007, 11:52 AM
JohnZeman JohnZeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Problem solved.

Not by SanDisk for they still haven't gotten back to me. But after thinking about it, and after reading the posts in this thread (especially the one from Chuck) I decided that a fix this time probably wouldn't help me in the future when I'll likely forget the 5D cannot format cards this big and do it again. So I went ahead and purchased the personal version of Paragon Partition Manager (as suggested by Cem earlier in this thread) and it cleaned the card right up. I now have a full 16 GB card again in my 5D.

Many thanks to all who responded. Let's hope my experience will help prevent a similar problem from happening to any of you some time down the line.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 27th, 2007, 12:17 PM
Cem_Usakligil Cem_Usakligil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,946
Default

Hi John,

While I'm happy that you've solved the problem, it is a shame you had to purchase another program for that. Nevertheless, the Paragon Partition Manager is a very good utility. I'm sure you will end up using it also for other purposes.

Like you, I'd definitely forget to NOT to format the card in my 5D. Formatting a card as the first activity when I insert it into the camera has become a really nasty (automated) habit of mine.

Cheers,
__________________
Kind Regards, Cem

flickr
website
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old July 9th, 2007, 04:57 AM
Keith Kiiroja Keith Kiiroja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 34
Default

I have a 12gb Sandisk and a 4gb Hoodman...both cards work amazing and both cards are their regular capacity and both were used and formatted with my Canon 30d...
__________________
www.unkphoto.com MUSIC PHOTOGRAPHY...

Equip: Canon 30D, Canon Accessories, Sigma Lenses, Calumet Strobes

Published In: Alternative Press Magazine, SPIN, Rolling Stone, People, Entertainment Weekly, Substream Music Press, Metallion, EAT. Decibel, Outburn, Revolver, Soundcheck, and MORE...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 30th, 2007, 03:32 AM
Barry Johnston Barry Johnston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
Posts: 224
Default Hi guys....

I have a 4Gb SD card in my 1D N, but my camera won't format the card, can anyone give me any ideas at all why it won't?

Cheers,
Barry.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 30th, 2007, 03:51 AM
Robert Groom Robert Groom is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 12
Default

The EOS-1D Mk II N requires firmware version 1.1.2 to use SDHC cards with capacities exceeding 2GB.

Download it here ...

http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eos1dm2n...irmware-e.html

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old July 30th, 2007, 04:54 AM
Nill Toulme Nill Toulme is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Posts: 1,407
Default

And it also fixes that problem with 4GB SD (not SDHC) cards.

Nill
~~
www.toulme.net
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 17th, 2007, 02:22 PM
Eric_Skrzypczak Eric_Skrzypczak is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I'm so irritated with Canon right now I can't stand it. I'm a guy who will probably buy a new digital SLR every 12 – 18 months for the next 40 years. I hope that Canon can get their act together or I'll have to switch to Nikon. I sent Canon support the following email this week:

I love your digital SLR cameras. When your cameras came out I bought the EOS 10D, 20D and 5D models as soon as they were released. I know that you are always pursuing the next, best thing. However it is really lame that the 5D will not correctly format cards bigger than 8 gig.

If you can't produce an update for the 5D firmware that allows this to happen I'm sorry to say that I've bought my last Canon camera. I'm so frustrated that I've really felt the need to get on every website that discusses Canon cameras and start discussing the lousy firmware support that you seem to have for models less than two years old and still selling on the market.

I don't think any of your loyal base is expecting a bunch of new features with older bodies we just want to be able to format our cards correctly in your cameras. Is that really so much to ask for?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 17th, 2007, 02:44 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,305
Default

Eric,

I am empathetic with your feelings. However, for the record, although not really good enough, one can use a 16GB card after formatting it in another Canon Camera. So if the card is purchased in a camera store, simply pop it in a 1DIII and reformat the Canon way. Not convenient of course, but works.

It really miffs me that firmware is not open source as we'd see far better function if we had the combined creativity of users all around.

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 17th, 2007, 03:12 PM
Edward Bussa Edward Bussa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Eric,
It really miffs me that firmware is not open source as we'd see far better function if we had the combined creativity of users all around.
Asher
Indeed - I downloaded the CHDK hack for DIGIC II processors (like on my S3 IS) and it is simply amazing what can be done when people are not constrained by committee and liability!
__________________
Ed.
gallery
adventures
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old October 17th, 2007, 03:14 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,305
Default

Hey Ed,

That's news for me! What's the CHDK hack and what other's are there?

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old October 17th, 2007, 06:54 PM
Jörgen Nyberg Jörgen Nyberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 108
Default

Here you go Asher: chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK

Jörgen


try http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK

Last edited by Ray West; October 18th, 2007 at 03:32 PM. Reason: fixed link
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old October 18th, 2007, 03:10 PM
Eric_Skrzypczak Eric_Skrzypczak is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Asher,

I do realize that I have options. I actually purchased paragon-partition-manager . However last week I was on an international trip. I had not loaded the software on my business laptop. I'm used to formatting the card before I use it so I did it without thinking and immediately cut its capacity in half. I was not in an urban environment with any other SLR cameras that I could identify. I need to remember to use “delete all” as opposed to formatting. However this really should work. After all my business is Canon's to loose.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old October 16th, 2015, 02:17 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,305
Default

Funny how times have changed! I still have some 8GB and 16GB Sandisk CF cards that I keep for when I lend out my 7D or 5D to one of my sons! I'd never dream of using anything less than 32GB today and it's usually 64GB. The advantage is that I can keep 2 64 GB SD cards in my wallet for emergencies.

I noticed this thread because someone was looking at it!

Yes, times have changed! But the 5D and 7D still make perfect pictures. If that's all we had, everyone could still earn a living at photography, crime scenes and insurance losses could be documented and we'd have the same chances of winning competitions, but would not need such large hard drives to store 20-400 MB Tiff pictures!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old October 16th, 2015, 08:57 PM
Doug Kerr Doug Kerr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 8,122
Default

Hi, Asher,

I actually have on my desk a 16 MB MMC card (the predecessor to the SD card).

Best regards,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old November 13th, 2015, 12:52 PM
Michael Nagel Michael Nagel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 2,233
Default

How times are changing...

My first steps into digital photography were using a 4MB SmartMedia card back in '99 (this was enough to start with a whopping resolution of 1280x960).

Sixteen years later I have a 128GB SDXC card I use for larger shootings or video...

Best regards,
Michael
__________________
I do not call myself an artist, I just try to capture what I see.
If you need many words to describe what your picture means, it doesn't speak enough for itself.
my photos on flickr - here is the portion posted in OPF.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old November 13th, 2015, 01:06 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Nagel View Post
How times are changing...

My first steps into digital photography were using a 4MB SmartMedia card back in '99 (this was enough to start with a whopping resolution of 1280x960).

Sixteen years later I have a 128GB SDXC card I use for larger shootings or video...

Best regards,
Michael

....and I still have an Apple 2E with 128K of memory, considered "going over the top" at the time when coding was scrupulously efficient!

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old December 3rd, 2015, 01:52 PM
Michael Nagel Michael Nagel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Munich/Germany
Posts: 2,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Nagel View Post
How times are changing...

My first steps into digital photography were using a 4MB SmartMedia card back in '99 (this was enough to start with a whopping resolution of 1280x960).

Sixteen years later I have a 128GB SDXC card I use for larger shootings or video...

Best regards,
Michael
....and I still have an Apple 2E with 128K of memory, considered "going over the top" at the time when coding was scrupulously efficient!

Asher
Does it take pictures?
__________________
I do not call myself an artist, I just try to capture what I see.
If you need many words to describe what your picture means, it doesn't speak enough for itself.
my photos on flickr - here is the portion posted in OPF.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old December 3rd, 2015, 05:40 PM
Asher Kelman Asher Kelman is offline
OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32,305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asher Kelman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Nagel View Post
How times are changing...

My first steps into digital photography were using a 4MB SmartMedia card back in '99 (this was enough to start with a whopping resolution of 1280x960).

Sixteen years later I have a 128GB SDXC card I use for larger shootings or video...

Best regards,
Michael
....and I still have an Apple 2E with 128K of memory, considered "going over the top" at the time when coding was scrupulously efficient!

Asher

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Nagel View Post
Does it take pictures?

Yes! If one has the Logitech camera attached, LOL!

I set it up to make pictures using random numbers to assign a starting points for a circles of random sizes within some limits and place at random position of the screen to generate, after a certain completion of the circle, random tangents and so fort so I made "ART" but more than that, fascinated by son and enticed his to work on learning Borland Pascal then C+ and so on ................until he was the head of marketing for a software company! I just sold him my 55mm 1.8 Zeiss lens for his Zeiss APS C camera and that does get very good pictures........all based on the Apple II e.

Asher
__________________
Follow us on Twitter at @opfweb

Our purpose is getting to an impressive photograph. So we encourage browsing and then feedback. Consider a link to your galleries annotated, C&C welcomed. Images posted within OPF are assumed to be for Comment & Critique, unless otherwise designated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Posting images or text grants license to OPF, yet © of such remain with its creator. Still, all assembled discussion © 2006-2017 Asher Kelman (all rights reserved) Posts with new theme or unusual image might be moved/copied to a new thread!