• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Just for Fun No C&C will be given: Autumn Impressions

Mike Nogle

I took this photo in Seoul, right after seeing an excellent exhibit of Bae Bien-U at the National Museum.

3451zt0.jpg

It is a lot different from his work and, of course, my photo is not worthy of being mentioned in comparison. It is just that I was very impressed by his use of overexposure and the balance of the dark blacks and the overblown whites. This is my first try at bringing these into use in my own photography.

Last edited by a moderator:

Ken Tanaka

pro member
Hello Mike,

I like it. I expect to see the leaves flutter slightly in an eventual breeze if I look at them long enough. It's a view I would expect to see waking up after an October afternoon nap in the park.

More pointedly, however, I like your creative track. Getting beyond your camera's literal nature is a very liberating discovery that can give you a creative outlet for life, regardless of where you are.

May I recommend getting a copy of Saul Leiter's "Early Color" while it's still in (re)print? (You can see some of the prints from this series on Artnet.) These are images that Leiter, a painter, created in the mid/late 1950's when color emulsions were new...and unpredictable...and unstable. These are very expressionistic and impressionistic images that are simply glorious to an eye open to new suggestions.