• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Let's See Whatya Doin' With That M8

Jack_Flesher

Hi Asher:

I like the image as-is because it has a different "balance" between the atmosphere and ground than we are used to --- almost looks lunar. I am no expert in IR, but I suspect that it is an effect of IR.

Note that this particular shot was taken a good 40 minutes BEFORE sunrise and was a 30 second exposure at f8, ISO 160 in very low light. Also note the white on the rocks and ground is snow and not sand. As such not much IR would be present in the ground or rocks themselves, but certainly more than the clear sky (dark) and certainly less than the clouds (light). (FWIW at this time of day, IR actually gives an exposure time close to that of visible light.)

As for the update: My take is this is an excellent deal for anybody who has 1) has put a LOT of mileage on their M8 or 2) wants a quieter M8. On the first point, think a few years down the road when you have 150K actuations on the shutter and your rear LCD is all scratched up. For 1200E you get a new shutter, scratch-proof LCD AND fresh 2 year warranty! On the second point, I was at PMA for a meeting with Leica, and they had a modified M8 there. I can tell you it is SIGNIFICANTLY quieter than the current version, so I'll probably do both of my bodies as the current warranties will be up soon...

Cheers,

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
One question I have Jack is when will an M9 appear?