• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

New To LF Journal 1: gear acquisition

Erik DeBill

When I posted elsewhere that I was going to be entering into the world of Large Format after being exclusively small format digital, Asher asked me to write about my experiences here. I'm going to be trying to do that, and I'll try and mark the threads with similar titles so everyone can ignore me when they realize I'm a boring writer :)

First, my background: I started with a Kodak Instamatic that my parents got for me at a garage sale, and rapidly progressed to using my mom's Argus to take black and white pictures. I was maybe 8 or 10. I didn't stick with it for more than a year or two. I took photography in high school and got exposed to black and white darkroom work. Then I stopped taking pictures until I could get a 2MP digicam, because I hated the thought of accumulating piles and piles of prints and negatives, and 2MP would let me take desktop backgrounds for my 1600x1200 monitor. That was just after I graduated from college. When I convinced myself that I was actually going to stick with it, I bought a Digital Rebel. Eventually I bought a printer and started making prints, which got me past my phobia of physical artifacts.