• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

This is for the birds....!!

Barry Johnston

I visited a local birding sanctuary in Victoria a couple of days ago, and managed to get these shots. I am new to the 400 2.8, and the heavy beast that it is makes it really hard to hand hold at any time. Never the less, I was happy with the outcome of some of these as it was my first time shooting birds of any sort.

Camera: 1D MkII N + EF 400 f/2.8 L IS USM with monopod

original.jpg

1/800s f/4.5 at 400.0mm iso640

original.jpg

1/320s f/8.0 at 400.0mm iso800

original.jpg

1/250s f/5.6 at 400.0mm iso800

original.jpg

1/1600s f/8.0 at 400.0mm iso800

I have a few more, which I will post later.... for now, it's been a long Christmas Day !!

Regards,
Barry.

Excellent images, especially considering these are your first bird images.

The 400/f2.8 IS is quite a nice Christmas present. You must have been really good this year!

Best,

Barry Johnston

A few more....

Here are a few more I took from the same place...

original.jpg

1/250s f/7.1 at 400.0mm iso800

original.jpg

1/250s f/5.6 at 400.0mm iso800

original.jpg

1/1250s f/4.5 at 400.0mm iso800

original.jpg

1/60s f/9.0 at 400.0mm iso800

Regards,
Barry.

Asher Kelman

OPF Owner/Editor-in-Chief
These images are great and a pleasure to look at.

The pictures are actually wonderful and show no evidence of any restrictions to the birds themselves. I like the bokeh.

Some points: