• Please use real names.

Greetings to all who have registered to OPF and those guests taking a look around. Please use real names. Registrations with fictitious names will not be processed. REAL NAMES ONLY will be processed

Firstname Lastname

Register

We are a courteous and supportive community. No need to hide behind an alia. If you have a genuine need for privacy/secrecy then let me know!
  • Welcome to the new site. Here's a thread about the update where you can post your feedback, ask questions or spot those nasty bugs!

Red

Prateek Dubey

r270627-fullsize.jpg

Prateek Dubey : Red​

I'm working to create a commercially appealing portfolio. I will post all those photos which I think should appeal to advertisers, food stylists etc. I take criticism well, so please feel free to say anything you wish to.
This is my first attempt at 'food' photography. Though I got swayed by the texture and form of the watermelon.

Last edited:

Ken Tanaka

pro member
Prateek,
This is an ecellent personal project to undertake. It might ultimately produce good stock imagery and/or a body of more personal imagery.

I've no crit of this to offer, only a brief thought or two to consider.

Among all visual subjects food is perhaps the most complex. Not purely from a technical perspective, although it can present many challenges there. But from a much higher and broader perspective. Every person who will look at your images has a physical and emotional relationship with food. Food stylists are paid to make commercial food imagery appeal to appetites and tastes. That's fine if you're trying to sell food.

But today, perhaps more than ever, food imagery can invoke negative, even rather repulsive, reactions from viewers. Sometimes it's a direct connection, like weight control issues. Sometimes it's an indirect connection, such as economics.